Trim The Footprint

Preface

Esperanzah! festival

Climate change is a major issue, and requires solutions on an (inter)national scale, as well as locally and personally. Putting a considerable dent in our contribution to climate change will require important decisions to be made about our economic and social model. To achieve this, we'll have to work together and cross the hard boundaries. Beyond boundaries!

Hear me out on this one:
La Condition Publique (Roubaix), Esperanzah! Festival (Floreffe) and Irie Vibes Roots Festival (Kortemark) all have three tings in common: they are active in the socio-cultural field, they bundle their strength and don't only collaboratively shrink their carbon footprint but also start the fire that spreads awareness amongst their partners and visitors. It's time for change. #OnFaitCeQueOnPeut

This project is receiving support and funding from Interreg France-Wallonie-Vlaanderen, and focusses on ecology/ecological awareness, teaching and language. #Trimthefootprint

The four axis of the project:

Axis 1

By systemically communicating through our website, newsletter and social media we promote the expansion of the project outside of their intended target audience as well as the indivudual growth of each project as time allows. Through social media we strive to involve the audience with an interactive experience in the projects. Making use of a collective slogan and a logo, the project becomes visually recognizable and easily remembered. By inviting the staff of other events, we hope to spread out the reach of our projects; all the while utilizing the school system and power of education to estabilish a long term solution.

Axis 2

Each of our partners can apply to have their carbon footprint calculated based on the available statistics from the event in 2019 according to the caron dioxide (co2) prestation ladder. We’d also like to work together with every partner (as well as cross-event) to discuss what’s possible to reduce their energy usage, trash production, improve their mobility, and how to improve the availability of sustainable foods and water. We take pricing, communication and trustability as well as durability and sustainability in to account. This way, we don’t only shrink our own footprint but show ourselves as an example to other events to follow.

Axis 3

Festival visitors are approached in an attractive manner: the music is inviting and this makes room to explore other possibilities. This way, we hope to provide the necessary initiative for people to take matters in their lives into their own hands. By allowing ecological organisations the room and possibility to present their inner workings to the public, we stimulate the further development of their working. By inviting event organisers and local governers, we hope to spread the “ecological awareness-fire”, making it self-sustaining. We lower the barrier and bring governing agencies, event- and eco-organisations and the festival visitors together to initiate a string of long-term effects and changes.

Axis 4

We are aspiring to create a multi-lingual booklet that teaches the youth aged 10 to 12 about Food Waste. In this booklet, we publish around 5 recipes on cooking with left-overs, cooking with scraps/garbage in collaboration with a variety of local chefs. The booklet will be published both digitally as on paper, taking in to account the range of creative and inspiring methods to present the booklet. Our goal is to speak up in schools and offer a free copy of the booklet. If anyone wishes so, one of our partners can demonstrate the recipes in a school with the help of an interactive workshop. By making the step towards education in schools, we are looking to link the local’s lives with ecological awareness ánd make grounds for a sustainable project that can exist on in the future.

Esperanzah! festival

Trim The Footprint

Préface

Esperanzah! festival

Le changement climatique nécessite certainement des solutions à un niveau international, national et individuel... Mais pour avoir un véritable impact, mondialement, il faut surtout changer de modèle économique et social. Pour y arriver, il faut collaborer au delà de nos frontières nationales.

La Condition Publique (Roubaix), le festival Esperanzah! (Floreffe) et le Irie Vibes Roots Festival (Kortemark), tous les trois actifs dans le secteur socio-culturel, unissent leurs forces pour non seulement renforcer leurs expériences d'évènements durables, mais aussi pour dynamiser le changement auprès des autorités à travers la sensibilisation de leurs partenaires et visiteurs. A notre échelle #OnFaitCeQueOnPeut

Ce projet est soutenu par Interreg France-Wallonie-Vlaanderen et porte sur l'écologie, l'éducation et les langues. #Trimthefootprint

Les quatre axes du projet:

Axis 1

Par une communication systématique sur les sites internet, via des newsletters et par les médias sociaux, nous souhaitons élargir la portée du projet, et le faire grandir au-delà du groupe cible de chaque action particulière. A travers les médias sociaux, nous encouragerons l'interactivité avec le public. Le projet sera visuellement reconnaissable grâce à l'usage d'un slogan et d'un logo communs. En invitant des organisateurs d'autres évènements, nous espérons que certaines actions se propagerons au-delà duprésent projet. En incluant le monde de l'enseignement, nous voulons engendrer des résultats à long terme.

Axis 2

Nous souhaitons calculer l'empreinte carbone de chaque partenaire sur la base des informations disponibles pour l'événement 2019 et suivant l'échelle de prestations de CO2. Ensuite nous voulons pour chaque partenaire, mais aussi trans-événementiel, discuter en concertation des possibles mesures concernant la consommation énergétique, les déchets, la mobilité, l'alimentation et l'eau. A ce sujet, nous tenterons de tenir compte du prix d'achat, de la communication, de la fiabilité et de la durabilité. De cette manière, nous réduirons non seulement notre propre empreinte, mais nous serons également un exemple pour d'autres évènements.

Axis 3

Les festivaliers seront abordés d'une manière stimulante : la musique les attire, mais de l'espace est créé pour découvrir aussi quelque chose d'autre. Ainsi, nous espérons encourager les gens à adopter des changements concrets dans leur vie quotidienne. En offrant à des organisations écologiques l'espace et la possibilité de présenter leur travail à un large publique, nous les stimulons aussi à perpétuer le développement de leur travail. En invitant d'autres organisateurs d'évènements et les autorités locales, nous espérons diffuser "un feu écologique' qui continuera de brûler au-delà du projet. Nous réduisons les obstacles et rassemblons les autorités, des organisations évènementielles et écologiques, et le public de festival pour créer des effets à long terme.

Axis 4

Nous voulons créer ensemble un recueil bilingue pour les 10-12 ans qui comprend des explications sur le gaspillage alimentaire. Ce recueil mettra en avant cinq recettes (cuisiner avec des restes, cuisiner avec des déchets). A cette fin, nous prendrons contact avec divers chefs de cuisine. Le recueil sera disponible tant digitalement qu'en version papier. Nous tiendrons compte de méthodes créatives et inspirantes dans l'élaboration du recueil. Avec ce recueil, nous souhaitons nous adresser aux diverses écoles. Il sera proposé gratuitement. Le cas échéant, un membre des équipes des partenaires pourra présenter le recueil par le biais d'un atelier dans les écoles. En établissant un pont avec l'enseignement, nous souhaitons lier nos événements à la vie locale et nous voulons ancrer le projet dans l'avenir.

Esperanzah! festival